European identities

The European project spans 60 years of shared adventures. But although as Europeans we are confronted with the same challenges, we do not know each other very well and tend to project our national preferences onto Europe: for example, the French tend to imagine that Europe is just a bigger version of France…. Yet trying to understand each other – “experiencing alterity” – is essential if we are to build a community of destiny.

The rise in extremist views, national retrenchment and national egotism show that we have lost sight of our common destiny. We need to take a long hard look at ourselves. We can no longer afford not to know our European partners better if we want to continue working together and sharing our sovereignties.

Far from focusing primarily on common institutions (as many “federalists” do), we need to agree first on what we want to achieve together. What is our project? It is not just a Brussels-based bureaucracy that has stepped up its political profile under the Juncker Commission. Building Europe means above all bringing peoples and nations together, and writing a European history of Europe.

To do this, we must answer the following question with one voice: how and where does Europe deliver – or not deliver – added value? How is Europe and the different circles it comprises (the Eurozone, the Schengen area, the EU, neighbouring countries, etc.) a relevant scale of action in today’s world?

Illustration-thématique-identité-400x400

Contact:

Clotilde WARIN, Chief Editor of the Review cwarin@confrontations.org

Upcoming Events

Dec
19
Anticipating future skills needs: How does Europe cope so far?
European Economic and Social Committee, Brussels

Latest Posts

Identités européennes

Le projet européen a 60 ans, 60 ans d’aventures communes. Mais si nous sommes confrontés à des défis communs, nous nous connaissons mal entre Européens et avons tendance à projeter sur l’Europe nos préférences nationales : ainsi les Français tendent à imaginer l’Europe comme une grande France, …. Chercher à comprendre autrui, « faire l’expérience de l’altérité » est pourtant un impératif pour parvenir à construire ensemble une communauté de destin.

Or, la montée des extrêmes, le repli sur soi, les égoismes nationaux reflètent une perte de conscience d’un destin collectif. Un examen de conscience s’impose. Nous ne pouvons plus faire l’économie d’une meilleure connaissance de nos partenaires européens si nous voulons continuer à agir ensemble, partager nos souverainetés.

Loin de penser d’abord des institutions communes (comme le font beaucoup de « fédéralistes »), encore faut-il se mettre d’accord sur ce que nous voulons faire ensemble, sur le projet lui-même. L’Europe n’est pas « Bruxelles », elle n’est pas seulement une bureaucratie bruxelloise qui s’est dotée avec la Commission Juncker d’une dimension politique renforcée. Construire l’Europe, c’est avant tout rapprocher des peuples et des nations, écrire une histoire européenne de l’Europe.

Cela exige donc de répondre ensemble à la question : en quoi et sur quoi l’UE a-t-elle –ou pas- une valeur ajoutée ? En quoi l’échelon européen, les différents cercles qui composent l’Europe (zone euro, Schengen, Union européenne, voisinages…) sont-ils les échelons pertinents d’action dans le monde actuel ?

illustration-thematique-identite

Contact:

Clotilde WARIN, rédactrice de la Revue

cwarin@confrontations.org

Événements associés

Juin
15
Conférence | Pour une réponse européenne à la crise des réfugiés
Centre de Recherches Internationales (CERI), Paris

Dernières publications