Europe and finance

Since the financial crisis, financial regulation and supervision have been strengthened. The priority now is not only to prevent another crisis and finalise the banking union, but also to strike a balance between financial stability and investment. We must re-embed finance into society in order to fund investments for the future, address environmental challenges and meet societal needs. Are the regulations put into place (Basel III, Solvency II, etc.) preventing the necessary recovery of investment in Europe? What regulatory adjustments to calibrations are on the horizon?

In a context of constrained public spending (national debt burdens are growing to the detriment of future generations) and also risk aversion among private investors, a coherent doctrine is needed to enable banks, insurance companies, investment funds and so on to accomplish their respective missions. The capital markets are still fragmented in Europe and the pernicious links between bank and public debt remain. Collective choices need to be clarified so that industrial companies and financial institutions can more accurately value general interest investments, rethink risk-yield combinations and change their business models.

Savings are not being channelled into long-term investment. The nature of these investments calls for complementarity and synergy between public- and private-sector players. Juncker’s investment plan is a step in the right direction, but it must be evaluated if it is to develop into a strategy for sustainably restoring investment in Europe. Its success also depends on the Europe-wide integration of capital markets. Banks provide three quarters of the money put into Europe’s economy: the Capital Market Union project could allow businesses – especially growing businesses – to diversify their sources of funding, regardless of their location in Europe.

But is it possible to restore long-term investment in Europe if Member States have divergent systems? How can real coordination and cooperation be established between the Member States? What kind of fiscal convergence is needed? How can social, societal and environmental factors be integrated into the investment project valuation process?

Thematique-Europe-et-finance

Contact:

Anne MACEY, chief executive : amacey@confrontations.org

Marine POUZOULET, policy officer, Finance and Youth : mpouzoulet@confrontations.org

Upcoming Events

Dec
19
Anticipating future skills needs: How does Europe cope so far?
European Economic and Social Committee, Bruxelles

Latest Posts

Europe et finance

La crise financière a conduit à renforcer la régulation et la supervision financière. Il faut éviter la prochaine crise, finaliser l’union bancaire, mais trouver aussi le bon équilibre entre stabilité financière et investissement.  Réintégrer la finance en société pour financer les investissements d’avenir, intégrer les défis de l’environnement et les besoins des sociétés est nécessaire. Les régulations mises en place (Bâle III, Solvabilité II…) contraignent-elles la nécessaire reprise de l’investissement en Europe ? Quelles refontes réglementaires des calibrations se dessinent ?

En période de financements publics contraints (les dettes des Etats s’accumulent au détriment des générations à venir)  mais aussi d’aversion au risque des investisseurs privés, une doctrine cohérente est nécessaire pour permettre  aux acteurs (banques, assurances, fonds d’investissement…) d’accomplir leurs missions. Les marchés de capitaux restent fragmentés en Europe et les liens pernicieux entre dettes bancaires et étatiques demeurent. Industriels et institutions financières ont besoin d’une clarification des choix collectifs pour mieux valoriser les investissements d’intérêt général, repenser les couples rendements-risques, changer leurs business models.

L’épargne n’est pas dirigée vers l’investissement de long terme. La nature de ces investissements appelle une complémentarité et une synergie entre les acteurs publics et privés. Le Plan d’investissement Juncker est une première étape qui demande évaluation pour aller vers une stratégie de relance durable de l’investissement en Europe. Sa réussite repose aussi sur l’intégration européenne des marchés de capitaux. Le financement de l’économie européenne relève aux trois-quarts des banques : le projet d’union des marchés de capitaux peut permettre aux entreprises, notamment celles en croissance quelles que soient leur localisation en Europe, de diversifier leurs sources de financement.

Cependant, peut-on relancer l’investissement en Europe et viser le long terme si les dispositifs des Etats membres sont non convergents ? Comment mettre en place une véritable coordination ou des coopérations entre les Etats ?  Quelle convergence fiscale ? Comment valoriser ces projets d’investissement en intégrant les dimensions sociales, sociétales, environnementales?

Thematique-Europe-et-finance

Contact:

Marine POUZOULET, chargée de mission du groupe « Finance »

mpouzoulet@confrontations.org

Événements associés

Informations à venir

Dernières publications