Sustainable Europe

Europe has led the way in promoting an energy and ecological transition, which is vital to achieving more “sustainable” development.

This transition does not mean that a “green economy” will suddenly emerge out of nowhere. So how do we create the conditions for a “fair” transition, which means supporting the transformation of our industrial bases, upgrading the skills of workers, accompanying mobility and introducing new collective social protection arrangements?

The challenge lies in reconciling three objectives: security of supply, competitiveness and a low-carbon economy. How do we move towards a real European energy policy? The creation of an internal energy market is hampered by diverging national preferences. Comparing the energy transition pathways of the different Member States would enable us to identify common components upon which the EU could continue to build a single market satisfying both national interests and the collective European interest.

How can we make sure that European electricity markets, for example, provide relevant price signals for long-term investment, especially when it comes to grids? How should the carbon market be reformed? What industrial policies are needed for global value chains, in terms of energy efficiency and clean energy? How should the energy transition be financed?

Illustration-europe-durable

Contact:

Michel CRUCIANI

Upcoming events

More information coming soon

Latest Posts

Europe durable

L’Europe s’est distinguée par son rôle de promotion d’une transition énergétique et écologique indispensable à un mode de développement plus « durable ».

Cette transition n’est pas la création « ex nihilo » d’une « économie verte » qui surgirait d’un  coup. Dès lors, comment créer les conditions d’une transition « juste », qui implique d’accompagner la transformation de nos socles industriels, la montée en compétences des travailleurs, l’accompagnement des mobilités et de nouvelles protections collectives ?

Tout l’enjeu est de concilier trois objectifs : sécurité d’approvisionnement, compétitivité, économie à bas carbone. Comment progresser vers une véritable politique européenne de l’énergie ? La réalisation d’un marché unique de l’énergie se heurte à  des préférences nationales divergentes. Comparer les trajectoires de transition énergétique des différents Etats membres permettrait d’identifier des composantes communes sur lesquelles l’UE pourrait prendre appui pour poursuivre la construction d’un marché unique articulant les intérêts nationaux et l’intérêt collectif européen.

Comment s’assurer que les marchés européens de l’électricité notamment fournissent des signaux prix pertinents pour l’investissement à long terme, en particulier pour les réseaux ? Quelle réforme du marché carbone ? Quelles politiques industrielles de filières en matière d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergies propres ? Comment financer la transition énergétique ?

Contact:

Edouard SIMON, directeur du bureau de Bruxelles  : esimon@confrontations.org

Morgane GORET-LE GUEN, chargée de mission, Energie et Numérique : mgoret@confrontations.org

Événements associés

Déc
19
Anticipation des besoins de compétences
European Economic and Social Committee, Brussels

Dernières publications