The future of Europe

Europe is going through crisis after crisis (financial crisis, migratory crisis, terrorism and defence, Brexit, etc.), which may ultimately lead to its disintegration.

In a context of global macroeconomic tensions, it is vital that we address Europe’s growth prospects: are we in danger of secular stagnation? How can we increase Europe’s growth potential, promote long-term investment and adjust our monetary and budget policies? How can we make sure that social, societal and environmental issues are taken into consideration in a new development pathway adopted in response to future challenges?

Today’s Europe comprises de facto two or even three circles: countries in the Eurozone (19), countries in the European Union (28) and neighbouring countries. Bearing in mind the divergences between Member States in terms of their growth paths, economic competitiveness and social situations, how can we strengthen the governance of the Eurozone and create the conditions for economic, social and fiscal convergence?

While the distance between citizens and government is threatening democracy in Europe, the governance of European policies is under scrutiny. Greater involvement from economic and social players and from citizens is called for, within a system that leaves more room for deliberation.

Thematique-Avenir

Contact:

Carole ULMER, Director of Studies

culmer@confrontations.org

Upcoming events

Mar
31

Latest publications

Avenir de l’Europe

Les multiples crises (crise financière, crise migratoires, terrorisme et défense, risque de Brexit…) auxquelles nous, Européens, sommes confrontés peuvent conduire à un délitement de l’Europe.

Dans un contexte de conjoncture macroéconomique globale en tension, s’interroger sur nos perspectives de croissance en Europe est central : sommes-nous confrontés à un risque de stagnation durable ? Comment rehausser le potentiel de croissance de l’Europe, investir à long terme et adapter nos politiques monétaires et budgétaires ? Comment s’assurer que les enjeux sociaux, sociétaux, environnementaux soient pris en considération dans un nouveau mode de développement répondant aux défis du futur ?

De fait, l’Europe se caractérise aujourd’hui par « deux », voire « trois cercles » : les pays qui sont dans la zone euro (19), ceux qui sont dans l’Union européenne (28), et notre voisinage. Alors que nous constatons partout des divergences dans les trajectoires de croissance, de compétitivité économique, de situation sociale entre Etats-membres, comment consolider la gouvernance de la zone euro, et créer les conditions pour des convergences économiques, sociales, fiscales ?

Alors que la distance avec les citoyens menace la démocratie en Europe, la gouvernance des politiques européennes est mise en cause et appelle une implication plus grande des acteurs économiques, sociaux et des citoyens sur les territoires dans une logique faisant une plus grande place à la délibération.

Contact: Carole ULMER

culmer@confrontations.org

Événements associés

Mar
23
60 ans d'Europe, et après ?
Assemblée nationale, Paris
Mar
23
60 ans du traité de Rome - Relancer l'Europe
Auditorium de l’Atria, Arras
Mar
27
Le plan Juncker : investir dans le social ?
Conseil économique, social et environnemental, Paris

Dernières publications